Afternoon’

This week marked the completion of my Konigstiger, or ‘King Tiger’ model.

In historical terms, despite it’s size, power and cutting edge technology, by the time it came into production at the close of the war the German Army was already loosing badly and plagued by fuel and ammunition shortages as well as other logistical nightmares, such as bombed-out factories and unreliable supply lines.

In reality this meant the 500 or so King Tigers that were eventually produced proved severely hamstrung in terms of combat effectiveness and so were often limited to a reserve role.

It is nonetheless one my favorite tanks of the war aesthetically, and so it is the one I instinctively picture whenever someone says “WWII tank”. I felt I needed to field one in my German force as it’s actually one of the reasons I wanted a German force in the first place.

real-kt
The real deal. As you can see, Massive!

Anyway, that’s enough History…

In the tabletop game it comes at a whopping 555pts Regular, or 666pts Veteran, which is frankly insane, so the chances I’ll be actually fielding it are rare.

If I do take to the field with it, there are only a few weapons in the game than can be considered a legitimate threat to it. Of those weapons, most are pretty rare as well. The biggest threat will be fast-moving squads with man-portable weapons (Panzerfausts/Bazookas) hitting it in the sides or rear. Even then, it’s not a guaranteed kill.

So aside from firing the super heavy gun at everything, it’ll spend most of it’s time working as mobile heavy cover for the more vulnerable infantry.

That is assuming I remember to keep an officer nearby to keep the pins off it.

As for painting and modelling, I am really pleased with how this came out even if I think some aspects of it are massively overdone. When I posted these pictures for feedback in the Bolt Action Facebook group it came with the following caveats;

 

  • First, I know it’s Panzer Grey and therefore a historical travesty. I wanted it to match my other vehicles and that’s the only reason for this colour. I mean, it’s not impossible that one would have been painted dunklegrau, it’s just very unlikely and there’s no solid evidence for it having happened.
  • Second, the model is a 1/48th scale Tamiya kit. I know that the flat-fronted turret variant was the one that saw production, but this is the one I prefer (it was also about £6 cheaper).
  • Third, the wording on the side of the turret reads “Der Kobold”, which I thought meant “The Troll”, a reference to the reaction it generated when I first posted a picture of it, but have since been enlightened means something closer to “The Leprechaun, which I think is actually better.
dscn5509_zpseqdb8rdy
Main view from the front

These two shots give a slightly closer view of the mud effects and weathering on the tracks themselves. It’s a shame they’re not more visible really, as I think the track and track assemblies are probably my favorite parts of the model.

dscn5512_zpsz9nrcqp6
It’s slightly easier to tell in the birds-eye image below, but I added quite a lot of additional stowage and gear to the tank so there was less “blank space” to work with.

 

I may yet do some weathering on the top of the turret, because as per the feedback some of it looks a little too ‘clean’ still.

I think this is partly a feature of the single-direction white light source, but I can see what they mean.

The point is that I’m 99% done, and I think that’s good enough.

Mat

