The post title says it all really.

I’ve managed to make good progress on my Bolt Action minis recently and have completed a decent amount of the SS. However I’m not used to painting ‘realism/realistic’ models and I’ve started finding the relentless (and frankly bland) palette rather frustrating.

This is not to say I’m bored of the models or game, by no means, and I’m sure I’ll get used to it in time, but I just think I’m so used to the vibrant colours of the GW range that I need to break up my production of soldiers with ‘something else‘.

That “something else” is my old Dwarf Bloodbowl (Fantasy Football) team. This makes sense (in my head) for three reasons.

  • First, it’s small. I think it has 20 models in it, possibly less.
  • Second, it’s easy. The models are all old-style single sculpts, with limited detail. The model below is the biggest by far and only took me a couple of hours of sustained work.
  • Third, a new version of the boxed game is on the way and it makes a lot of sense to have a team ready in advance. (I know, right?)

I started with something as far removed as possible from WWII miniatures; the Deathroller. here it is in its near-completed state.

wp_20161021_00_26_27_pro_zpsy9a6paet
I’m going to muddy up the roller a bit, but I think I might detail some other bits first.
wp_20161021_00_26_22_pro_zpsz9dj6bgk
Look at that face, I mean come on! They don’t make them like they used to.
wp_20161021_00_26_18_pro_zpslu0myewl
I’m toying with the idea of adding some cotton-wool smoke to the top of the smoke stacks. I might do that last though.

I need a good name for the team (I can’t even remember what they were called the first time around) but they’re already primed and good to go.

Mat

P.S

Please excuse the terrible wallpaper in my 1960s kitchen. It’s hideous.

